fbpx
Close

MIRET

Changing the future of footwear with MIRET bio-based sneakers

Introduction

MIRET is developing environmentally advanced footwear that are designed to have the lowest possible impact on the environment.

Our bio-based sneakers are an alternative to highly unsustainable products, without compromising on design, durability, or comfort.

MIRET is based in Croatia and was established in 2018. We are raising between €400,000 and €560,000 to achieve scaling through growing the direct-to-consumer and business-to-business sales.

Our mission is to raise awareness of the negative ecological impact of the footwear industry and empower people to choose sustainability. Miret is not just a sneaker – it is a vehicle for change.

Our dream is to create a “zero-impact” shoe: compostable, recyclable, made from renewable, bio-based, sustainably grown materials, locally sourced, locally manufactured, and extremely durable. Our main target is to reduce the use of petroleum derivatives and toxic chemicals in material production processes and in the final product.

Problem

24 billion pairs of shoes were made just in 2019. Made mostly from oil derivatives and leather, shoes have a detrimental effect on the environment. Here are some the facts about the environmental impact of the footwear industry:

Solution

MIRET ecological sneakers – crafted from bio-based materials*, with the strongest natural fibres and natural wool.

Bio-based materials are wholly or partly derived from materials of biological origin, excluding materials originating from geological formations and/or fossilised

MIRET aims to reduce the negative eco-impact of the footwear industry by offering a viable, aesthetically pleasing, and cost-efficient alternative to sneakers made from oil derivatives or leather. Through our product, we satisfy the needs of people who look for shoes that fit their green lifestyle without compromising for style or comfort. Developed with new technologies and modern bio-based materials (as shown in the diagram above), our sneakers substitute the classical approach, and we believe outperform in comfort.

Through the MIRET project, we are tackling UN Sustainable Development goal 12 (Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns), goal 13 (Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts), and goal 14 (Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development). We use DPD for all our logistics who has a CO2 neutral delivery policy across Europe.

Market

In 2020, the global market for footwear was around US$ 365 billion, which is expected to grow to US$ 530 billion by 2027. The global sustainable footwear market is expected to grow to US$ 11.8 billion by 2027, with an aggregated annual growth rate of 5.8% from 2020 to 2027.

The target group for MIRET are millennials and the Z-generation, who we believe are willing to spend more on sustainable products.

Footwear is the second most important fashion segment within the retail business, just behind apparel. According to the “Forecast World Fashion Industry 2019 study” conducted by Lineapelle Economic Department, the Z Generation made up for 40% of world consumption in 2020. 66% of Millennials and the Z Generation are willing to pay more for sustainable products. 90% of the Z Generation believe that companies have the responsibility to tackle social and environmental issues, while over half of millennials already declare to look for information about sustainability of companies and products before buying.

Our primary market consists of ecologically conscious individuals of middle and high income. Targeted customers actively buy online. Our primary target market is the EU, and the secondary markets are North America and Asia-Pacific. Exports to foreign markets already make up for more than 65% of our sales.

Our target markets primarily focuses on customers with a high level of ecological awareness, coupled with a high disposable income.

Sales model

MIRET’s sales model is Direct-to-Consumer (D2C) via e-commerce.

We aim to expand to fashion marketplaces where bio-based materials are the sole focus – such as the German platform, Avocado – along with planned Business-to-Business (B2B) collaborations with other brands.

Business model

Our bio-based materials are sustainably supplied by DPD from the EU, with packaging materials (boxes, packing paper) from Croatia. MIRET sneakers are produced in Croatia from factories in Koprivnica and Virovitica. The production process consists of four stages: cutting, stitching, assembly, and packaging.

Based on the test results conducted by “OWS nv” Belgium (an accredited laboratory for conducting Bio-based Carbon Content as described by the European norm EN 16640 Bio-based products), MIRET sneakers have a minimum of 70% bio-based carbon content – making them eligible for OK Biobased certification with a three star rating: which requires more than 60% biobased materials (the tested materials represents 72.6% of the weight of the sneaker). We have started the process to officially gain the OK-Biobased certification.

Traction

MIRET launched on Kickstarter in March 2020, which was a success.

We take great pride that we managed to successfully produce and deliver our orders to our backers on time, while during the first wave of the global Covid-19 pandemic.

Miret Kickstarter campaign facts and figures (please note the raise is in US dollars):

In 2021, we made the transition from Kickstarter to the regular market and launched our first commercial collection called the “Poems for the Island” in April 2021.

Miret key metrics for Q1-Q3 2021 – we sold 1,205 pairs to 63 countries.

Historical Performance from our Annual Reports (please note the revenue, expenses and profit below are in Euros, converted as of November at an exchange rate of 0.13 Euro to Croatian Kuna):

Team

Brothers Hrvoje and Domagoj Boljar are the co-founders of Miret.

Hrvoje Boljar has 10 years of experience as head of footwear design and development in Roosvai’s footwear factory and holds a master’s degree from the University of Zagreb in industrial design, Hrvoje has extensive knowledge of footwear development and sustainable materials sourcing. He has worked as a designer and a product development director.

Domagoj Boljar has over 11 years of experience as a CEO of the Roosvai footwear factories in Croatia, along with working at Mr Joseph and Lessinia. This experience brought extensive knowledge of running a mid-scale business. Together they developed and produced high-end luxury sneakers.

The MIRET team consists of an additional 6 members, who all share the same sustainability values and vision as their founders:

Ana Boljar – creative director
Marina Ravlić – marketing manager
Mikael Hietala – sustainability officer
Alka Uroda – business development manager
Klara Markotić – social media manager
Dinka Hadžović – administration and customer care

MIRET is supported by a strong and diverse team of advisors who cover finance, international trade, e-commerce, online advertising, sustainability and startup funding.

Competition

Unique Value Proposition
The high use of natural materials is what distinguishes MIRET sneakers from competitors, with a focus on non-toxicity and sustainability.

Direct Competition
Our direct competitors include companies and brands that also focus on eco-friendly and sustainable footwear:

  • “Allbirds” focus on the reduction of CO2 emissions per pair and maintain the comfort of the show. Their USP focuses on being the world’s most comfortable running sneakers
  • “VEJA” focus on ethical manufacturing and aesthetics. Their USP is a highly ethical and transparent manufacturing process – blending design with social responsibility
  • “Vivobarefoot” USP is to create barefoot footwear. Recently they have incorporated recycled and other eco-friendly materials to promote themselves as sustainable

Indirect Competition
MIRET’s indirect competition are some global sports and leisure footwear brands, which are implementing sustainability approaches through special projects and collaborations, such as the following:

  • Nike (Nike Space Hippie)
  • Adidas (Adidas & Parley, Adidas & Allbirds)
  • Reebok (Forever Floatride Grow)

Capital

We are raising funds for scaling by growing our D2C and B2B sales.

So far, MIRET has raised €423,000 through a combination of private equity, debt instruments and grants. Below summarises our previous funding rounds:

Through 2018 and 2019, MIRET focused on product development of the first generation of MIRET ecological sneakers.

Our first external funding came in 2019 in the form of an EIT Climate-KIC Accelerator Grant and from early investment via venture capitalists. The funds were used to complete the product development and prepare the Kickstarter campaign.

In late 2020, we raised our seed round. We focused on business development and preparations for the next phase: scaling up. Most of the funds were used for testing the product-market fit, gathering feedback on the product, and measuring KPIs.

In 2022 we plan to accomplish the following:

  • Finish development of MIRET’s women’s specific eco sneakers and MIRET’s bio-based summer sandals and bring them to the market
  • Introduce customisable sneakers (eco printing on fabric) and realise at least two B2B collaboration projects with this product
  • From February to April, we plan to do the first production run of 5 000 pairs of sneakers for the Spring-summer 2022 selling season
  • MIRET is accepted into a subsidised pilot program by Oeko-tex, and we plan to finish the certification program by February 2022. We are in the process of a CO2 footprint and lifecycle analysis and gaining the OK biobased certification, both planned to be finished by April 2022
  • MIRET was accepted into the Avocado store (a sustainability fashion marketplace, targeting consumers in the DACH region)

We plan to use the minimum investment of €400,000 (or maximum of €560,000) for the following:

  • Growth cost – 57.5 %
  • Employees costs – 17.5 %
  • Research & development – 7.5 %
  • Certifications and IP – 7.5 %
  • Other costs – 10 %

Exit

Mergers and acquisitions are common in the fashion industry. The most likely exit scenarios are as follows:

  • Acquisition by a competitor, strategic partner or a B2B client from the industry
  • IPO
  • Share Buyback of Funderbeam syndicate share by MIRET

Risk

Investment in early-stage companies involves certain risks. A prospective investor should carefully review all the information contained in this investment offer overview, including risk factors identified below. Businesses in competitive markets such as ours may be subject to risks foremost connected to large competitors and, in our case, to the success of our attempt to carve out a niche sub-market for sustainable footwear.

We believe the main risks that could affect our business goals to be the following:

Raw materials supply risk

Global supply and logistics shocks can negatively impact our company. Our supply chain is based in the EU and the final shoe production is done locally in Croatia. Still, supply problems might arise. Availability and cost of raw materials is affected by world market prices that can move in unfavourable direction. Cost increases or raw material availability may impact our ability to purchase materials at favourable prices that may affect our pricing or margins.

Risks related to entry into new foreign markets

We may not have sufficient ability to enter new and untested foreign regions, which in consequence may result in significant cash burn with limited results that would severely impact our growth.

Market and competition risk

Our competitors’ actions may negatively impact our business growth if more companies decide to create similar natural material products. Competitors include athletic and leisure footwear companies and athletic and leisure apparel companies.
Many of our competitors are larger than us – with strong worldwide brand recognition – who therefore have substantially greater resources. Fashion and footwear are highly competitive markets that can potentially limit our growth.

Sustainable fashion is fast growing and eCommerce has made it easier for new companies to enter the market in which we compete, leading to new competition in the footwear and apparel industry.

Marketing, brand, and product positioning risk

These risks include positioning of our product in a wrong segment, the price level not being optimal for success, and our marketing efforts may not deliver our desired consumer uptake, all of which could lead to us falling short of our target revenues. If there is a significant shift in consumer trends, or we are unsuccessful in adapting to our client’s interests, our products might lose traction on the market, thus impacting our growth.

Liquidity and financing risk

We anticipate the need for future funding to sustain targeted growth in the long term. If we are unable to secure this, we may fall behind our competitors. We believe that this would not lead to us shutting down the business, but it would likely impact our long-term position in the market.

Global economic and trade risk

The global economy has been unstable due to the emergence of Covid-19 and global supply chain issues. It is difficult to predict the impact that these externalities might have over an extended period. Therefore, it is possible that such a scenario may have an impact on our business in some shape or form.

Other

Awards and Recognitions

MIRET won the Gold Award in the category of Sustainable Fashion at the 14th IDA Awards – The International Design Awards 2020.

MIRET was also awarded by the Global Footwear Awards, in the category of Materials sourcing/Biodegradable materials, showing that we are the forerunners in the niche of sustainable footwear. We won 1st place in the overall category for Material sourcing, and won two medals – gold and silver. For this occasion, Hrvoje Boljar, co-founder and chief product designer at MIRET, talked about the project.

Recently, the International Trade Council announced its winners in the 2021 Go Global award ceremony, and we are proud to share that MIRET won 1st place in the category “Socially Responsible Exporter of the Year”.

Do you want to stay informed about future Danube Angels' projects?

Subscribe to our newsletter.

* mandatory

Top

fbpx
Close

MIRET

Die Zukunft der Schuhe mit den biobasierten Turnschuhen von MIRET

Einführung

MIRET entwickelt ökologisch fortschrittliche Schuhe, die so konzipiert sind, dass sie die Umwelt so wenig wie möglich belasten.

Unsere biobasierten Turnschuhe sind eine Alternative zu nicht-nachhaltigen Produkten, ohne Kompromisse bei Design, Haltbarkeit oder Komfort einzugehen.

MIRET ist in Kroatien ansässig und wurde 2018 gegründet. Wir sammeln zwischen 400.000 € und 560.000 € ein, um eine Skalierung durch den Ausbau des Direktvertriebs an Endkunden und des Business-to-Business-Vertriebs zu erreichen.

Unser Ziel ist es, das Bewusstsein für die negativen ökologischen Auswirkungen der Schuhindustrie zu schärfen und den Menschen zu ermöglichen, sich für Nachhaltigkeit zu entscheiden. Miret ist nicht nur ein Turnschuh – er ist ein Mittel zur Veränderung. Unser Traum ist es, einen Schuh zu schaffen, der keine nachteiligen Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt hat: kompostierbar, recycelbar, aus erneuerbaren, biobasierten und nachhaltig angebauten Materialien hergestellt, lokal bezogen, lokal hergestellt und extrem haltbar. Unser Hauptziel ist es, die Verwendung von Erdölderivaten und giftigen Chemikalien in den Produktionsprozessen und im Endprodukt zu reduzieren.

Fintune sucht frisches Eigenkapital, um die Hardware- und Softwareentwicklung abzuschließen und ihre Lösung in Österreich und Deutschland als erste Märkte einzuführen.

Problem

Allein im Jahr 2019 wurden 24 Milliarden Paar Schuhe hergestellt. Schuhe, die hauptsächlich aus Erdölderivaten und Leder hergestellt werden, haben schädliche Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt. Hier sind einige Fakten über die Umweltauswirkungen der Schuhindustrie:

95 % der jährlich verbrauchten Schuhe werden auf Deponien entsorgt. Das Recycling von Schuhen ist aufgrund der komplexen Mischung von Materialien und Konstruktionstechnologien eine Herausforderung.

Lösung

Ökologische Sneaker von MIRET – hergestellt aus biobasierten Materialien*, mit den stärksten Naturfasern und Naturwolle.

*Biobasierte Materialien werden ganz oder teilweise aus Materialien biologischen Ursprungs gewonnen, mit Ausnahme von Materialien, die aus geologischen Formationen und/oder fossilen Quellen stammen.

MIRET hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die negativen Auswirkungen der Schuhindustrie auf die Umwelt zu verringern, indem es eine praktikable, ästhetisch ansprechende und kostengünstige Alternative zu Sneakers aus Erdölderivaten oder Leder anbietet. Mit unserem Produkt erfüllen wir die Bedürfnisse von Menschen, die Schuhe suchen, die zu ihrem umweltfreundlichen Lebensstil passen, ohne Kompromisse bei Stil oder Komfort einzugehen. Entwickelt mit neuen Technologien und modernen biobasierten Materialien (wie im obigen Diagramm dargestellt), ersetzen unsere Turnschuhe den klassischen Ansatz und übertreffen unserer Meinung nach den Komfort. Mit dem MIRET-Projekt setzen wir uns für das UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziel 12 (Sicherstellung nachhaltiger Konsum- und Produktionsmuster), das Ziel 13 (Dringende Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und seiner Auswirkungen) und das Ziel 14 (Erhaltung und nachhaltige Nutzung der Ozeane, Meere und Meeresressourcen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung) ein. Wir nutzen das Unternehmen DPD für unsere gesamte Logistik, das eine CO2-neutrale Lieferpolitik in ganz Europa verfolgt.

Markt

Im Jahr 2020 belief sich der Weltmarkt für Schuhe auf rund 365 Milliarden US-Dollar, der bis 2027 auf 530 Milliarden US-Dollar anwachsen soll. Es wird erwartet, dass der globale Markt für nachhaltige Schuhe bis 2027 auf 11,8 Mrd. USD ansteigen wird, mit einer aggregierten jährlichen Wachstumsrate von 5,8 % von 2020 bis 2027.

Die Zielgruppe für MIRET sind Millennials und die Z-Generation, die unserer Meinung nach bereit sind, mehr für nachhaltige Produkte auszugeben.

Schuhe sind das zweitwichtigste Modesegment im Einzelhandel, gleich nach der Bekleidung. Laut der Studie “Forecast World Fashion Industry 2019” der Wirtschaftsabteilung von Lineapelle wird die Generation Z im Jahr 2020 40 % des weltweiten Konsums ausmachen. 66 % der Millennials und der Generation Z sind bereit, mehr für nachhaltige Produkte zu bezahlen. 90 % der Generation Z sind der Meinung, dass Unternehmen die Verantwortung haben, soziale und ökologische Probleme anzugehen, während mehr als die Hälfte der Millennials bereits erklärt, sich vor dem Kauf über die Nachhaltigkeit von Unternehmen und Produkten zu informieren.

Unser Hauptmarkt besteht aus umweltbewussten Personen mit mittlerem und hohem Einkommen. Die angesprochenen Kunden kaufen aktiv online ein. Unser primärer Zielmarkt ist die EU, und die sekundären Märkte sind Nordamerika und der asiatisch-pazifische Raum. Die Exporte in ausländische Märkte machen bereits mehr als 65 % unseres Umsatzes aus.

Unsere Zielmärkte konzentrieren sich in erster Linie auf Kunden mit einem hohen ökologischen Bewusstsein, gepaart mit einem hohen verfügbaren Einkommen.


Vertriebsmodell

MIRETs Vertriebsmodell ist Direct-to-Consumer (D2C) über E-Commerce.

Wir wollen auf Modemarktplätze expandieren, bei denen ausschließlich biobasierte Materialien im Mittelpunkt stehen – wie etwa die deutsche Plattform Avocado – sowie geplante Business-to-Business (B2B)-Kooperationen mit anderen Marken.

Geschäftsmodell

Unsere biobasierten Materialien werden nachhaltig von DPD aus der EU geliefert, die Verpackungsmaterialien (Kartons, Packpapier) stammen aus Kroatien. Die MIRET-Sneaker werden in Kroatien in Fabriken in Koprivnica und Virovitica hergestellt. Der Produktionsprozess besteht aus vier Schritten: Zuschnitt, Nähen, Montage und Verpackung. Basierend auf den Testergebnissen von “OWS nv” Belgien (ein akkreditiertes Labor für die Durchführung von biobasiertem Kohlenstoffgehalt, wie in der europäischen Norm EN 16640 für biobasierte Produkte beschrieben), haben die MIRET-Sneaker einen biobasierten Kohlenstoffgehalt von mindestens 70 % – was sie für die OK Biobased-Zertifizierung mit einer Drei-Sterne-Bewertung qualifiziert: Diese erfordert mehr als 60 % biobasierte Materialien (die getesteten Materialien machen 72,6 % des Gewichts des Sneakers aus). Wir haben den Prozess zur offiziellen Erlangung der OK-Biobased-Zertifizierung eingeleitet

Entwicklung des Unternehmens

MIRET wurde im März 2020 auf Kickstarter gestartet und war ein Erfolg.

Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, dass es uns gelungen ist, während der ersten Welle der weltweiten Covid-19-Pandemie unsere Bestellungen erfolgreich zu produzieren und pünktlich an unsere Geldgeber zu liefern.

Fakten und Zahlen zur Kickstarter-Kampagne von Miret (bitte beachten Sie, dass die Summe in US-Dollar angegeben ist):

Im Jahr 2021 schafften wir den Übergang von Kickstarter zum regulären Markt und brachten im April 2021 unsere erste kommerzielle Kollektion mit dem Namen “Poems for the Island” auf den Markt.

Miret-Kennzahlen für Q1-Q3 2021 – wir haben 1.205 Paar in 63 Länder verkauft.

Historische Performance aus unseren Jahresberichten (bitte beachten Sie, dass die Einnahmen, Ausgaben und Gewinne unten in Euro angegeben sind, umgerechnet im November zu einem Wechselkurs von 0,13 Euro zur kroatischen Kuna):

Team

Die Brüder Hrvoje und Domagoj Boljar sind die Gründer von Miret.

Hrvoje Boljar verfügt über 10 Jahre Erfahrung als Leiter des Schuhdesigns und der Entwicklung in der Schuhfabrik von Roosvai. Er hat einen Master-Abschluss der Universität Zagreb in Industriedesign und verfügt über umfassende Kenntnisse in der Schuhentwicklung und der Beschaffung nachhaltiger Materialien. Er hat als Designer und Leiter der Produktentwicklung gearbeitet.

Domagoj Boljar verfügt über mehr als 11 Jahre Erfahrung als CEO der Roosvai-Schuhfabriken in Kroatien sowie als Mitarbeiter von Mr. Joseph und Lessinia. Dank dieser Erfahrung verfügt er über umfassende Kenntnisse in der Führung eines mittelständischen Unternehmens. Gemeinsam entwickelten und produzierten sie Luxus-Sneaker der Spitzenklasse.

Das MIRET-Team besteht aus weiteren 6 Mitgliedern, die alle die gleichen Werte und Visionen in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit teilen wie die Gründer:

  • Ana Boljar – Creative Director
  • Marina Ravlić – Marketing Manager
  • Mikael Hietala – Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragter
  • Alka Uroda – Business Development Manager
  • Klara Markotić – Social Media Manager
  • Dinka Hadžović – Verwaltung und Kundenbetreuung

MIRET wird von einem starken und vielseitigen Beraterteam unterstützt, das sich mit Finanzen, internationalem Handel, E-Commerce, Online-Werbung, Nachhaltigkeit und Start-up-Finanzierung beschäftigt.

Wettbewerb

Einzigartiges Leistungsversprechen

Der hohe Einsatz natürlicher Materialien unterscheidet die MIRET-Sneakers von denen der Konkurrenz, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf Unschädlich- und Nachhaltigkeit liegt.

Direkte Konkurrenz

Zu unseren direkten Konkurrenten gehören Unternehmen und Marken, die sich ebenfalls auf umweltfreundliche und nachhaltige Schuhe konzentrieren:

  • “Allbirds” konzentriert sich auf die Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen pro Paar und auf den Komfort. Ihr USP konzentriert sich darauf, die bequemsten Laufschuhe der Welt zu sein.
  • “VEJA” konzentriert sich auf ethische Herstellung und Ästhetik. Ihr Alleinstellungsmerkmal ist ein hochgradig ethischer und transparenter Herstellungsprozess, der Design und soziale Verantwortung miteinander verbindet.
  • Das Alleinstellungsmerkmal von “Vivobarefoot” ist die Herstellung von Barfußschuhen. In letzter Zeit haben sie recycelte und andere umweltfreundliche Materialien integriert, um sich als nachhaltig zu präsentieren,

Indirekte Konkurrenz

MIRETs indirekte Konkurrenz sind einige globale Sport- und Freizeitschuhmarken, die durch spezielle Projekte und Kooperationen Nachhaltigkeitsansätze umsetzen, wie zum Beispiel die folgenden:

  • Nike (Nike Space Hippie)
  • Adidas (Adidas & Parley, Adidas & Allbirds)
  • Reebok (Forever Floatride Grow)

Kapital

Wir suchen eine Finanzierung für die Skalierung, indem wir unsere D2C- und B2B-Verkäufe steigern.

Bisher hat MIRET 423.000 € durch eine Kombination aus privatem Beteiligungskapital, Schuldtiteln und Zuschüssen aufgebracht. Nachfolgend finden Sie eine Zusammenfassung unserer bisherigen Finanzierungsrunden:

In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 konzentrierte sich MIRET auf die Produktentwicklung der ersten Generation der ökologischen MIRET-Sneakers.

Unsere erste externe Finanzierung kam 2019 in Form eines EIT Climate-KIC Accelerator Grant und einer frühen Investition durch Risikokapitalgeber. Die Mittel wurden verwendet, um die Produktentwicklung abzuschließen und die Kickstarter-Kampagne vorzubereiten.

Ende 2020 haben wir unsere Seed-Runde abgeschlossen. Wir konzentrierten uns auf die Geschäftsentwicklung und die Vorbereitungen für die nächste Phase: die Skalierung. Der Großteil der Mittel wurde für die Prüfung der Produkt-Markt-Einführung, das Sammeln von Feedback zum Produkt und die Messung von KPIs verwendet.

Im Jahr 2022 wollen wir folgende Ziele erreichen:

  • Abschluss der Entwicklung von MIRETs frauenspezifischen Öko-Sneakers und MIRETs biobasierten Sommersandalen und deren Markteinführung
  • Einführung von individuell gestaltbaren Turnschuhen (Öko-Druck auf Stoff) und Realisierung von mindestens zwei B2B-Kooperationsprojekten mit diesem Produkt.
  • Von Februar bis April soll die erste Serie von 5 000 Paar Turnschuhen für die Verkaufssaison Frühjahr/Sommer 2022 produziert werden.
  • MIRET ist in ein subventioniertes Pilotprogramm von Öko-Tex aufgenommen worden und wir planen, das Zertifizierungsprogramm bis Februar 2022 abzuschließen. Wir sind dabei, eine CO2-Fußabdruck- und Lebenszyklusanalyse durchzuführen und die OK-Zertifizierung für biobasierte Produkte zu erlangen, die bis April 2022 abgeschlossen sein soll.
  • MIRET wurde in den Avocado Store aufgenommen (ein Marktplatz für nachhaltige Mode, der sich an Verbraucher in der DACH-Region richtet).

Wir planen, den Betrag dieser Finanzierungsrunde von 400.000 € (bis maximal 560.000 €) für Folgendes zu verwenden:

  • Wachstumskosten – 57,5 %
  • Kosten für Mitarbeiter – 17,5 %
  • Forschung und Entwicklung – 7,5 %
  • Zertifizierungen und IP – 7,5 %
  • Sonstige Kosten – 10 %

Exit

Fusionen und Übernahmen sind in der Modebranche üblich. Die wahrscheinlichsten Ausstiegsszenarien sind wie folgt:

  • Übernahme durch einen Konkurrenten, einen strategischen Partner oder einen B2B-Kunden aus der Branche
  • IPO – Börsegang
  • Rückkauf von Anteilen des Funderbeam-Konsortiums durch MIRET

Risiko

Investitionen in Unternehmen im Frühstadium sind mit bestimmten Risiken verbunden. Potenzielle Anleger sollten alle in diesem Überblick über das Investitionsangebot enthaltenen Informationen sorgfältig prüfen, einschließlich der unten aufgeführten Risikofaktoren. Unternehmen in wettbewerbsintensiven Märkten wie dem unseren, können Risiken ausgesetzt sein, die in erster Linie mit großen Wettbewerbern und in unserem Fall mit dem Erfolg unseres Versuchs zusammenhängen, einen Nischenmarkt für nachhaltige Schuhe zu erschließen.

Die wichtigsten Risiken, die unsere Geschäftsziele beeinträchtigen könnten, sind unserer Ansicht nach die folgenden:

Risiko der Rohstoffversorgung

Globale Liefer- und Logistikschocks können sich negativ auf unser Unternehmen auswirken. Unsere Lieferkette ist in der EU angesiedelt und die endgültige Schuhproduktion erfolgt vor Ort in Kroatien. Dennoch kann es zu Versorgungsproblemen kommen. Die Verfügbarkeit und die Kosten von Rohstoffen werden von den Weltmarktpreisen beeinflusst, die sich in eine ungünstige Richtung bewegen können. Kostensteigerungen oder die Verfügbarkeit von Rohstoffen können unsere Fähigkeit beeinträchtigen, Materialien zu günstigen Preisen zu erwerben, was sich auf unsere Preisgestaltung oder Gewinnspannen auswirken kann.

Risiken im Zusammenhang mit dem Eintritt in neue ausländische Märkte

Wir sind möglicherweise nicht in der Lage, in neue und unerprobte ausländische Regionen vorzudringen, was in der Folge zu einem erheblichen Cash-Burn mit begrenzten Ergebnissen führen kann, was unser Wachstum stark beeinträchtigen würde.

Markt- und Wettbewerbsrisiko

Das Vorgehen unserer Konkurrenten kann sich negativ auf unser Geschäftswachstum auswirken, wenn mehr Unternehmen beschließen, ähnliche Produkte aus natürlichen Materialien herzustellen. Zu den Wettbewerbern gehören Sport- und Freizeitschuhhersteller sowie Sport- und Freizeitbekleidungsunternehmen.
Viele unserer Konkurrenten sind größer als wir – mit starker weltweiter Markenbekanntheit – und verfügen daher über wesentlich größere Ressourcen. Mode und Schuhe sind hart umkämpfte Märkte, die unser Wachstum potenziell begrenzen können.

Nachhaltige Mode wächst schnell, und der Internethandel hat es neuen Unternehmen erleichtert, in den Markt einzutreten, in dem wir konkurrieren, was zu einem neuen Wettbewerb in der Schuh- und Bekleidungsindustrie geführt hat.

Marketing-, Marken- und Produktpositionierungsrisiko

Zu diesen Risiken gehört, dass unser Produkt in einem falschen Segment positioniert wird, dass das Preisniveau für den Erfolg nicht optimal ist und dass unsere Marketingbemühungen nicht die gewünschte Akzeptanz bei den Verbrauchern finden, was dazu führen könnte, dass wir unsere Umsatzziele nicht erreichen. Wenn sich die Verbrauchertrends deutlich ändern oder wir uns nicht erfolgreich an die Interessen unserer Kunden anpassen, könnten unsere Produkte auf dem Markt an Zugkraft verlieren, was unser Wachstum beeinträchtigen würde.

Liquiditäts- und Finanzierungsrisiko

Wir gehen davon aus, dass wir auch in Zukunft Finanzmittel benötigen, um unser angestrebtes Wachstum langfristig aufrechtzuerhalten. Sollten wir nicht in der Lage sein, diese zu sichern, könnten wir hinter unsere Wettbewerber zurückfallen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass dies nicht zur Schließung des Unternehmens führen würde, aber es würde wahrscheinlich unsere langfristige Position auf dem Markt beeinträchtigen.

Globales Wirtschafts- und Handelsrisiko

Die Weltwirtschaft ist aufgrund des Aufkommens von Covid-19 und globalen Lieferkettenproblemen instabil geworden. Es ist schwer vorherzusagen, welche Auswirkungen diese externen Effekte über einen längeren Zeitraum haben könnten. Daher ist es möglich, dass ein solches Szenario in irgendeiner Form Auswirkungen auf unser Geschäft hat.

Andere

Auszeichnungen und Anerkennungen

MIRET hat bei den 14. IDA Awards – The International Design Awards 2020 – den Gold Award in der Kategorie Sustainable Fashion gewonnen.

MIRET wurde auch bei den Global Footwear Awards in der Kategorie Materialbeschaffung/biologisch abbaubare Materialien ausgezeichnet, was zeigt, dass wir Vorreiter in der Nische der nachhaltigen Schuhe sind. Wir gewannen den 1. Platz in der Gesamtkategorie für Materialbeschaffung und erhielten zwei Medaillen – Gold und Silber. Bei dieser Gelegenheit sprach Hrvoje Boljar, Mitgründer und leitender Produktdesigner bei MIRET, über das Projekt.

Kürzlich gab der International Trade Council die Gewinner der Go Global-Preisverleihung 2021 bekannt, und wir sind stolz darauf, dass MIRET den ersten Platz in der Kategorie Sozialverantwortlicher Exporteur des Jahres gewonnen hat.

Sie wollen in Zukunft über die Projekte von Danube Angels auf dem Laufenden bleiben?

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an.

* verpflichtete Angaben

Top