fbpx
Close

Sledgehammer

The alternative to classic alpine sports: Winter fun sports equipment – a combination of a frame and skis – is reaching new target groups.

Facts of the crowdinvesting campaign
Target investment amount:€ 85.000 to 300.000
Offered participation:11,98 % to 32,44 %
Pre-money valuation:€ 624.643
Minimal investment and denomination:€ 2.500
End of the subscription period:17.12.2021
32,35 % financed
27.500 EUR invested
11 investors

Introduction

Sledgehammer is an Austrian-based company that develops, manufactures, distributes and rents ski bikes and other winter fun sports equipment.

Founder and managing director Gregor Schuster has been developing winter sports equipment under his own brand Sledgehammer since 2006 and has been running the company Sledgehammer Wintersport GmbH since 2013. In recent years we have learned how to produce high-quality and perfectly rideable winter fun sports equipment, which we believe will make winter sports areas more attractive and attract more guests again.

We develop Sledgehammer winter fun sports equipment on our own premises and have over 70% of it manufactured in Austria from this season onwards. From the 2022/2023 season, the products will be manufactured entirely in Austria.

Our goal is to become a trendsetter in the winter tourism industry with our winter fun sports equipment and to bring more guests back to the slopes. To have fun on the slopes with our products, you don’t need courses lasting several days or long training times. We look forward to you joining us and making winter sports more attractive with Sledgehammer winter fun sports equipment.

Problem

“Global warming”, the buzzword of our time. This is a fact. Due to shorter winter seasons and increasingly expensive lift tickets, winter sports are becoming an absolute luxury and school ski weeks and ski courses are booked less and less often. The higher temperatures unfortunately also provide soft slopes for longer and longer periods, which the modern carving skier avoids.

Winter sports are changing. Winter sports resorts have started to rethink and offer not only the classic alpine sports, but are now increasingly looking for alternatives and expansions of their offers to be able to offer their guests much more. But also to keep the local guests on the slopes longer. Often, weekly guests switch to off-piste activities from the third day onwards, such as visits to the pools, winter walks or tobogganing experiences. This is where the skibike and other fun sports equipment come in.

In addition, an awareness has now arrived in the winter sports landscape that young customers, more than ever, need to be convinced about winter sports. The offer must be attractive, accessible without major hurdles and preferably immediately learnable.

Solution

Sledgehammer builds skibikes, skibobs and other winter fun sports equipment. All current and future products essentially consist of an aluminum frame and at least two carving skis. Both components are developed and constantly improved by Sledgehammer. With the coming season, after many years of Far East production, over 70% of the products will now be manufactured in Austria. With the 2022/23 season, this will be entirely the case.

Quickly learned, all models, just like skis or snowboard, can be moved in any kind of terrain.

Market

Business model

Our business model is based on two areas. One is the sale and the other is the rental of winter fun sports equipment.

Sale

In recent years, we have focused exclusively on a B2C model. Already a few years ago, a mix of B2B and B2C model was pursued and thus a strong partner network was built up. Due to the unwillingness of some B2B partners to partially prefinance the goods, the B2B model was reduced to almost zero. From the winter season 2021/2022, a B2B model is now to be introduced again in addition, as the demand from our partners for our products has risen steadily in recent years.

Rental

In the 2019/2020 season, further experience was gained with twenty-one strategically important stations (in AUT, DE and CH) and two mobile test stations, and the rental station concept was further tested. Later plans to expand the rental station network through partners and a commission-based business were scrapped due to lack of control and the need for people on site to identify with the products. This winter season, Sledgehammer will concentrate on a few rental stations and operate them itself.

Market potential and target group

The products are aimed at a very large target group, which consists of mountain bikers, motocrossers, winter sports enthusiasts but also not-yet winter sports enthusiasts and a very young target audience. The visual appearance of the products alone arouses interest in these people. In the DACH region, the achievable potential of mountain bikers is very high at 520,000 people. There are hardly any competitors worldwide at the moment and none at all in Europe. The market can be penetrated much more with a significant increase in the advertising measures, which have been too low to date.

Traction

In 2006 Gregor Schuster started with the development of the skibike and other winter fun sports equipment. In 2013 he founded the Sledgehammer Wintersport GmbH.

Gregor Schuster has done years of pioneering work and created the market for the products themselves. The development of the products and the market had to be, forced, more than the profit in focus.

In the first years of our business we were able to find partners in China who supplied our skibike frames. In 2016, there were unfortunately problems with the ski supplier in Austria, so we had to look for new partners who could offer the same quality. In the meantime we have found this again and can deliver high quality products.

Financial data

2019/20202020/20212021/20222022/20232023/2024
Turnover120 81056 206395 0001 274 0002 210 000
Costs-175 131-107 700-327 000-815 000-1 354 000
EBITDA-54 321-51 49468 000459 000856 000

Team

We believe that the energy, experience, enthusiasm, skills and ambition brought by our team, give us the potential to make Sledgehammer a global player in the winter sports market. Our key personnel include:

Gregor Schuster: Founder, Managing Director & Development

Gregor is the visionary behind Sledgehammer, an avid mountain and ski biker and an expert in this scene. Through his training as a mechanical engineer and business economist, he understands both the technical and the economic side of the business field. His strengths lie in the constant technical development and expansion of the product range. In addition, Gregor Schuster impresses in terms of technology above all through his innovative thinking, which allows the products to always be one step ahead of the competition. From testing to the construction of the frames, the individual parts and the skis, everything is done in-house by Gregor Schuster.

Dalina Naue: Marketing & Events

Dalina studies market and advertising psychology and is an avid cyclist/motocross rider, which allows her to apply a high level of understanding and terminology to the conversation with our target groups. She is very familiar with the topic of winter sports and has quite an interesting network, especially with many young, well-known winter athletes.

Philip Ostermann: Purchasing & Disposition

Philip is the owner of a bike shop and also an avid mountain biker. Through his extensive network in the mountain bike scene, Philip is an important partner for Sledgehammer.

Gregor Schuster, Dalina Naue & Philip Ostermann

Competition

There are a few competitors around the world that also offer skibikes. However, in our opinion, these are not competitive with Sledgehammer, as they either offer less sophisticated products or products that are too high-priced.

Capital

Sledgehammer has been financed in recent years through a mix of equity financing rounds, shareholder loans and overdraft facilities to provide short-term liquidity.

Current financing

Sledgehammer’s capital requirements range between EUR 85,000 and EUR 300,000. The capital raised through the financing round will be used on the one hand to

  • For inventory purchase of new sports equipment for the 2021/2022 season,
  • marketing campaigns and events, and
  • the construction of two exclusive rental stations in Flachau and Semmering.

Exit

We are committed to long-term growth with the goal of delivering profitable returns to Sledgehammer stakeholders.

We see an exit opportunity through acquisition of a larger brand within 5-7 years as plausible. We believe these brands may be interested in Sledgehammer to add a standalone and sustainable brand to their portfolio. It is also conceivable that smaller brands may be interested in a merger or acquisition of Sledgehammer to grow their business.

No posts

Details of the crowd-investing campaign

Facts of the crowdinvesting campaign
Target investment amount:€ 85.000 to 300.000
Offered participation:11,98 % to 32,44 %
Pre-money valuation:€ 624.643
Minimal investment and denomination:€ 2.500
End of the subscription period:17.12.2021
32,35 % financed
27.500 EUR invested
11 investors

Do you have any questions? 

Answers to frequently asked questions can be found under FAQ

We will be also glad to answer your questions by e-mail at: info@danubeangels.com.

Notice:
The economic success of the investment depends on the company’s business performance in the target markets in which it operates.
This type of investment is associated with considerable risks and can lead to the complete loss of the capital invested.

Do you want to stay informed about future Danube Angels' projects?

Subscribe to our newsletter.

* mandatory

Top

fbpx
Close

Sledgehammer

Die Alternative zu den klassischen Alpinsportarten: Winter-Funsportgeräte – eine Kombination aus einem Rahmen und Ski – erreichen neue Zielgruppen

Eckdaten der Crowdinvestingkampagne
Gesuchter Investitionsbetrag:€ 85.000 bis 300.000
Angebotene Unternehmensbeteiligung:11,98 % bis 32,44 %
Unternehmensbewertung vor Kapitalrunde:€ 624.643
Mindestinvestition und Stückelung:€ 2.500
Ende der Zeichnungsfrist:17.12.2021
32,35 % finanziert
27.500 EUR investiert
11 Investoren

Einführung

Sledgehammer ist ein in Österreich ansässiges Unternehmen, das Skibikes und andere Winter-Funsportgeräte entwickelt, produzieren lässt, vertreibt und verleiht.

Der Gründer und Geschäftsführer Gregor Schuster entwickelt seit 2006 Wintersportgeräte unter der Eigenmarke Sledgehammer und betreibt seit 2013 das Unternehmen Sledgehammer Wintersport GmbH. In den letzten Jahren haben wir gelernt, wie man qualitativ hochwertige und perfekt zu fahrende Winter-Funsportgeräte herstellt, von denen wir glauben, dass sie Wintersportgebiete attraktiver macht und wieder mehr Gäste anziehen werden.

Wir entwickeln Sledgehammer Winter-Funsportgeräte in unseren eigenen Räumlichkeiten und lassen diese ab dieser Saison zu über 70 % in Österreich fertigen. Ab der Saison 2022/2023 werden die Produkte gänzlich in Österreich hergestellt werden.

Unser Ziel ist es, mit unseren Winter-Funsportgeräte ein Trendsetter in der Wintertourismusbranche zu werden und wieder mehr Gäste auf die Piste zu bringen. Um Spaß auf der Piste zu haben, braucht es mit unseren Produkten keine mehrtätigen Kurse oder lange Trainingszeiten. Wir freuen uns, wenn Sie sich uns anschließen und den Wintersport mit Sledgehammer Winter-Funsportgeräte attraktiver machen.

Problem

“Klimaerwärmung”, das Schlagwort unserer Zeit. Diese ist Fakt. Durch kürzer werdende Wintersaisonen und immer teurere Liftkarten wird der Wintersport zum absoluten Luxus und Schulskiwochen und Skikurse werden immer weniger oft gebucht. Die höheren Temperaturen bescheren leider auch über immer längere Phasen weiche Pisten, die der moderne Carving-Skifahrer meidet.

Der Wintersport ist im Wandel. Wintersportgebiete haben begonnen umzudenken und bieten nicht nur den klassischen Alpinsport, sondern suchen nun vermehrt nach Alternativen und Erweiterungen ihrer Angebote, um ihren Gästen viel mehr bieten zu können. Aber auch um die vor Ort Gäste länger auf den Pisten zu halten. Oft wechseln die Wochengäste ab dem dritten Tag zu Aktivitäten abseits der Skipisten, wie Bäderbesuche, Winterwanderungen oder Rodelerlebnissen. Hier setzen das Skibike und andere Funsportgeräte an.

Außerdem ist in der Wintersportlandschaft mittlerweile ein Bewusstsein angekommen, dass die jungen Kunden, mehr denn je, vom Wintersport überzeugt werden müssen. Das Angebot muss attraktiv, ohne große Hürden erreichbar und am besten sofort erlernbar sein.

Lösung

Sledgehammer baut Skibikes, Skibobs und andere Winter-Funsportgeräte. Alle aktuellen und zukünftigen Produkte bestehen im Wesentlichen aus einem Aluminiumrahmen und mindestens zwei Carving-Ski. Beide Komponenten werden von Sledgehammer eigens entwickelt und stetig verbessert. Die Produkte werden mit der kommenden Saison, nach vielen Jahren Fernost-Produktion nun zu über 70% in Österreich gefertigt. Mit der Saison 2022/23 wird dies gänzlich der Fall sein.

Rasch erlernt lassen sich alle Modelle, genauso wie Ski oder Snowboard, in jeder Art von Gelände bewegen.

Markt

Geschäftsmodell

Unser Geschäftsmodell stützt sich auf zwei Bereiche. Zum einen der Verkauf und zum anderen der Verleih von Winter-Funsportgeräte.

Verkauf

In den letzten Jahren haben wir uns ausschließlich auf ein B2C-Modell konzentriert. Bereits vor einigen Jahren wurde ein Mix aus B2B- und B2C-Modell verfolgt und so ein starkes Partnernetz aufgebaut. Aufgrund der fehlenden Bereitschaft einiger B2B-Partner, die Ware teilweise vorzufinanzieren, wurde das B2B-Modell nahezu auf null reduziert. Ab der Wintersaison 2021/2022 soll nun zusätzlich wieder ein B2B-Modell eingeführt werden, da die Nachfrage unserer Partner nach unseren Produkten in den letzten Jahren stetig gestiegen ist.

Verleih

In der Saison 2019/2020 wurden mit einundzwanzig strategisch wichtigen Stationen (in AUT, DE und CH) und zwei mobilen Teststationen weitere Erfahrungen gesammelt und das Verleihstationen-Konzept weiter getestet. Spätere Pläne, das Verleihstationennetz durch Partner und einem Provisionsgeschäft auszuweiten, wurden aufgrund von fehlender Kontrolle und der Notwendigkeit der Identifikation der Personen vor Ort mit den Produkten, wieder verworfen. Sledgehammer konzentriert sich in dieser Wintersaison auf einige wenige Verleihstationen und wird diese selbst betreiben.

Marktpotenzial und Zielgruppe

Die Produkte richten sich an eine sehr große Zielgruppe, die sich aus Mountainbikern, Motocrossern, Wintersportlern aber auch Noch-nicht-Wintersportlern und sehr jungem Zielpublikum zusammensetzt. Allein die optische Erscheinung der Produkte weckt bei diesen Personen Interesse. In der DACH-Region ist das erreichbare Potenzial an Mountainbikern mit 520.000 Personen sehr hoch. Konkurrenzfähige Mitbewerber gibt es weltweit im Moment kaum und in Europa gar nicht. Der Markt kann mit der wesentlichen Steigerung, der bis dato zu geringen Werbemaßnahmen noch wesentlich mehr durchdrungen werden.

Bisherige Unternehmensentwicklung

2006 hat Gregor Schuster mit der Entwicklung des Skibikes bzw. andere Winter-Funsportgeräte begonnen. Im Jahr 2013 hat er die Sledgehammer Wintersport GmbH gegründet.

Gregor Schuster hat jahrelange Pionierarbeit geleistet und den Markt für die Produkte selbst erschaffen. Die Entwicklung der Produkte und des Marktes mussten, gezwungener Maßen, mehr als der Gewinn im Fokus stehen.

Wir konnten in den ersten Jahren unserer Geschäftstätigkeit Partner in China finden, die unsere Skibike-Rahmen lieferte. 2016 gab es leider mit dem Skilieferanten in Österreich Probleme, sodass wir uns nach neuen Partnern umsehen mussten, der die gleiche Qualität anbieten konnte. Mittlerweile haben wir diesen wieder gefunden und können hochwertige Produkte liefern.

Finanzdaten

2019/20202020/20212021/20222022/20232023/2024
Umsatz120 81056 206395 0001 274 0002 210 000
Kosten-175 131-107 700-327 000-815 000-1 354 000
EBITDA-54 321-51 49468 000459 000856 000

Team

Wir glauben, dass die von unserem Team eingebrachte Energie, Erfahrung, Enthusiasmus, Fähigkeiten und Ehrgeiz, uns das Potenzial geben, Sledgehammer zu einem globalen Player im Wintersportmarkt zu machen. Zu unserem Schlüsselpersonal gehören:

Gregor Schuster: Gründer, Geschäftsführer & Entwicklung

Gregor ist der Visionär hinter Sledgehammer, begeisterter Mountain- und Skibiker und Experte in dieser Szene. Durch seine Ausbildung als Maschinenbautechniker und Betriebswirt versteht er sowohl die technische als auch die wirtschaftliche Seite des Geschäftsfeldes. Seine Stärken liegen in der stetigen technischen Weiterentwicklung und Erweiterung der Produktpalette. Außerdem besticht Gregor Schuster in Punkto Technik vor allem durch sein innovatives Denken, dass die Produkte immer einen Schritt weiter voraus sein lässt als die der Konkurrenz. Vom Testen bis zur Konstruktion der Rahmen, der Einzelteile und der Skier wird alles im Haus von Gregor Schuster erledigt.

Dalina Naue: Marketing & Events

Dalina studiert Markt- und Werbepsychologie und ist begeisterte Radsportlerin bzw. Motocrossfahrerin, wodurch sie hohes Verständnis und entsprechende Terminologie für die Konversation mit unseren Zielgruppen anwenden kann. Sie ist sehr vertraut mit dem Thema Wintersport und verfügt über ein durchaus interessantes Netzwerk, vor allem zu vielen jungen, bekannten Wintersportlern.

Philip Ostermann: Einkauf & Disposition

Philip ist Besitzer eines Fahrradgeschäftes und ebenfalls begeisterter Mountainbiker. Durch sein umfangreiches Netzwerk in der Mountainbike-Szene ist Philip für Sledgehammer ein wichtiger Partner.

Gregor Schuster, Dalina Naue & Philip Ostermann

Wettbewerb

Es gibt weltweit einige Mitbewerber, die ebenfalls Skibikes anbieten. Allerdings sind diese unserer Meinung nach nicht mit Sledgehammer konkurrenzfähig, da sie entweder wenig ausgereifte Produkte oder zu hochpreisige Produkte anbieten.

Kapital

Sledgehammer wurde in den vergangenen Jahren durch einen Mix an Eigenkapital-Finanzierungsrunden, Gesellschafterdarlehen und Kontokorrentkrediten zur kurzfristen Liquiditätssteigerung finanziert.

Aktuelle Finanzierung

Der Kapitalbedarf von Sledgehammer liegt zwischen EUR 85.000 und EUR 300.000. Das durch die Finanzierungsrunde eingesammelte Kapital wird einerseits

  • Für den Warenlagereinkauf neuer Sportgeräte für die Saison 2021/2022,
  • Marketingkampagnen und Events und
  • den Aufbau von zwei exklusiven Verleihstationen in Flachau und Semmering verwendet.

Exit

Wir setzen auf langfristiges Wachstum mit dem Ziel, den Sledgehammer-Stakeholdern profitable Erträge zukommen zu lassen.

Wir sehen eine Ausstiegsmöglichkeit durch die Übernahme einer größeren Marke innerhalb von 5-7 Jahren als plausibel an. Wir glauben, dass diese Marken an Sledgehammer interessiert sein könnten, um ihr Portfolio um eine eigenständige und nachhaltige Marke zu erweitern. Es ist auch denkbar, dass kleinere Marken an einem Zusammenschluss oder einer Übernahme von Sledgehammer interessiert sind, um ihr Geschäft auszubauen.

No posts

Details der Crowdinvesting-Kampagne

Eckdaten der Crowdinvestingkampagne
Gesuchter Investitionsbetrag:€ 85.000 bis 300.000
Angebotene Unternehmensbeteiligung:11,98 % bis 32,44 %
Unternehmensbewertung vor Kapitalrunde:€ 624.643
Mindestinvestition und Stückelung:€ 2.500
Ende der Zeichnungsfrist:17.12.2021
32,35 % finanziert
27.500 EUR investiert
11 Investoren

Sie haben noch Fragen?

Antworten zu häufig gestellten Fragen finden Sie unter FAQ.
Wir beantworten auch gerne Ihre Fragen per Mail unter info@danubeangels.com.

Hinweis:
Der wirtschaftliche Erfolg des Investments hängt vom Geschäftsverlauf der Gesellschaft auf den von ihr angestrebten Zielmärkten ab.
Diese Art der Investition ist mit erheblichen Risiken verbunden und kann zum vollständigen Verlust des eingesetzten Kapitals führen.

Sie wollen in Zukunft über die Projekte von Danube Angels auf dem Laufenden bleiben?

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an.

* verpflichtete Angaben

Top